Dealing with Drunk Driving Charges with Help from a Raleigh DWI Lawyer
charged with a Driving while Impaired (DWI) offense is a serious and
complex matter in North Carolina. Those who are charged with DWI face
serious consequences like jail time, license suspension or
revocation, or both.
technicalities or errors made by the State can result in a person
not facing any serious penalty associated with offenses like driving
while under the influence of alcohol (DUI). As TheNewspaper.com
North Carolina Court of Appeals ruled last week that a motorist
charged with serious driving crimes cannot go for more than three
years without a trial. It was on June 26, 2010 that Winston-Salem
Police Officer Richard Necessary arrested Steven Glenn Bryan on
Jonestown Road for driving without a license while under the
influence of alcohol (DUI). His car was impounded.
prepared to go to trial on his case, but prosecutors consistently
delayed. Eight continuances were granted over Bryan's request for a
speedy trial. Finally, district court Judge Chester Davis judge
became fed up on August 31, 2011 and signaled his intention to
dismiss the case. The state appealed, kicking off a series of
judicial findings that further slowed the process.
other cases though, prosecutors make an extra effort to pin down
locals who are charged with DWI and to ensure that there are no
delays in the process that could lead to a case dismissal. As a
result, those facing DWI charges should prepare for the likely
consequences. While cases may be dismissed because prosecutors cannot
get witnesses to come to court, or for lack of a speedy trial, the
vast majority of DWI charges are resolved through trial or plea. In
such a situation, people charges with DWI will benefit from enlisting
the services of an experienced Raleigh DWI lawyer to
protect their legal rights.
who are charged with DWI in North Carolina automatically have their
driver's license suspended for 30 days, but they have an opportunity
to obtain limited driving privileges after the first 10 days of the
30-day suspension period. Individuals qualify to get their full
license back from the County Clerk of Court after the 30-day
suspension period, and they can keep driving as usual until their
case is fully resolved.
you or someone you know has been charged with driving while
intoxicated, a qualified Raleigh DWI attorney
can help them determine their eligibility for limited driving
privileges both before and after conviction. The requirements also
include an active insurance and a court-filed substance abuse
assessment from a certified agency, which a lawyer can help procure.
a DWI charge in North Carolina means dealing with a lot of important
details. However, these complexities can be gracefully managed by
those facing a DWI charge if they seek help from a trusted attorney
with the Kurtz & Blum law firm.
Excerpt and Image from
Carolina Throws Out DUI Case Over Prosecutorial Delay,
November 5, 2013)